The Best Place To Start

The best place to start a story is always at the beginning. No matter how non-linear the narrative is, you need to ground your reader in the journey you’re asking them to take. No reader will agree to go with you if you don’t do them the courtesy of first introducing them to the world you’ve created.

So here we are. At the beginning.

My name is Ryleigh. I am a brand new Literary Agent working on building a list of authors as an Agency Assistant with The Rights Factory. I have a life-long passion for books and writing, a ton of experience in writing, editing, and publishing, and a lengthy background in business management that has nothing to do with any of those things.

I have been told I’m all elbows. I’m not sure it was meant as a compliment, but that’s how I took it. And since my goal is to create space for badass new writers, that quality should serve me (and maybe you) well. While I am mostly drawn to literary fiction, suspense, historical fiction, and creative non-fiction, I am open to anything with a teeth. I want a story that sinks its teeth into me and doesn’t let go. And that means writers who do the same. Writers who take risks and buck trends, who make promises with their persona and follow through with their talent, writers with moxie (I love that word). I want to put together a list of authors that would make up a kickass dinner party – or motorcycle gang…

But I’m getting ahead of myself. Before I start ordering invitations and planning a menu – or sourcing matching leather jackets – I’ll be here, right here, blogging about writing-type-things.

Leave a Reply

